THE TASTING BARN
LOCALLY SOURCED FARM-TO-FORK FOOD AND 100% ESTATE GROWN WINE
Pairing the highest quality local beer, wine and distilled spirits with the highest quality locally raised and grown food.
Located on the Seneca Lake Wine Trail in the Finger Lakes of central New York State, our tasting room, known as The Tasting Barn, is minutes from Watkins Glen, the town of Hector, and the village of Burdett, and just a short drive from Ithaca and Trumansburg.
The Tasting Barn is both the tasting room for Ryan William Vineyard and the home to a café run by Ryan’s wife Samira. Offering a true farm-to-fork experience, The Tasting Barn serves tapas style snacks as well as brunch and lunch items focusing on food and wine pairings and sustainably sourcing many of its ingredients from the animals raised and produce grown on the pastures and fields of the 76 acre farm upon which the Barn sits.
TASTING HOURS & OFFERINGS
WE HAVE A FEW DIFFERENT OPTIONS FOR YOUR ENJOYMENT. CALL US FOR MORE INFORMATION OR MAKE A RESERVATION ONLINE.
• Self-guided wine tasting flights
• Wine by the glass
• Wine by the bottle
• Schedule a tasting (guided tastings are done by reservation only)
Open 7 Days
Monday through Sunday
10am – 5pm
OUR TASTING ROOM AND KITCHEN ARE NOW OPEN AND WELCOME YOU WITH SAFELY DISTANCED INDOOR AND OUTDOOR DINING OPTIONS!
LOCAL FOOD IN A RESTORED LOCAL LANDMARK.
One of the Finger Lake’s most beautiful destinations, The Tasting Barn was initially designed as a Canted Queen Post Barn used to stable horses and store hay and grain. The original structure was built between 1865 and 1870, it was later modified in the 1950s to encompass a milking parlor. The barn was held in an Estate for decades and tragically fell into a state of disrepair. Luckily, the property was purchased from the Estate before the barn collapsed and the structure was disassembled in 2014.
We spent 4 plus years thoroughly cataloguing, restoring and reassembling this timeless structure in its current location, taking special care to ensure the workmanship on the original timber frame is completely exposed for all to see today and over the next 150 years. We opened the building to the public as The Tasting Barn in 2016, even as the restoration continued, and it now serves as a gathering space for all to spend time with friends and enjoy our wines and food pairings from our kitchen.